Tax Collector: Kristin Dunton Treasurer: Jen Kelley
Town of Plymouth
PO Box 130
Plymouth, ME 04969
Town of Plymouth
1947 Moosehead Trail
Plymouth, ME 04969
Answers to frequently asked questions:
Property taxes are due in full by December 31st each year.Tax bills are mailed mid-August, with a 2% discount available for taxes paid in full within 30 days of the mailing date. Interest begins to accrue on January 2nd.
Can I use a credit and/or a debit card to pay my taxes?
The Town Office currently accepts Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover for all transactions. There is a 2.5% fee for the use of credit or debit cards.
I sold my property, why did I get a tax bill?
Although the Town's tax year runs from January 1st to December 31st, the taxes are assessed against the owner of record on April 1st. The April 1st date is set by State Law and is used by all communities. If you disposed of or sold your property after April 1st you are still responsible to pay the assessed taxes, even if they have not been committed yet. A purchase / sale agreement is a private agreement between you and the buyer of the property and does not automatically terminate your tax obligation. If the Town is required to file a tax lien for unpaid taxes, the lien will be filed in the name of the assessed owner as of April 1st. The Town highly recommends that all taxes, not just the current installment, be paid in full at your closing. Any pro-ration of taxes should be determined at your closing.
What if I lost my tax bill?
The Town mails one tax bill a year, normally in mid August. If you have lost or misplaced your bill you can contact the Town Office at (207) 257-4646 to obtain the balance due and your account number. If you must have a paper copy, the office can email one to you, or you may request one in person during regular office ours. Referencing the account number on your payment will ensure proper posting and reduce processing delays.
GENERAL PROPERTY TAX INFORMATION:
2020 Tax year
Tax Rate...........................................16.5 ( per $1,000 of valuation)
Tax Year...........................................January 1, 2020 thru December 31, 2020
2% Discount Date..........................September 24, 2020
Due Date..........................................December 31, 2020
Interest Begins..............................January 2, 2021
Homestead Exemption 2020...27,500
Homestead Exemption: Applications must be filed by April 1st for the current tax year. Once the exemption is granted you do not need to reapply unless you move. The application is available at the town office, or you may download on the State of Maine website here .
Veteran's Exemption: This exemption is available to the following veterans as defined by the State of Maine in General:
Estates of veterans, real and personal, including property held in joint tenancy with the veteran's spouse or held in a revocable living trust for the benefit of that veteran, are exempt up to $6,000.
($7,000 for veterans who served during any federally recognized war period prior to World War II)
of just valuation and only in the place where the veteran is a legal resident, provided the veteran:
(1) is a resident of the State of Maine; and
(2) has notified in writing the assessors of the municipality in which he or she resides of his or her
claim for exemption and furnished proof of his or her entitlement on or before April 1 (such
notification once made need not be repeated in subsequent years); and
(3) has reached the age of 62 years;
or is receiving a pension or compensation from the United States Government for total disability (100%),
either service or non-service connected, as a veteran; or
is receiving a pension or compensation from the United States Government for total disability
as a result of injury or disease incurred or aggravated during active military service in the line of
duty. (VA Tax Code status should be reviewed annually.)
The application is available at the town office, or you may download on the State of Maine website here.
Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes
Excise Tax is an annual tax that must be paid prior to registering a vehicle. Except for a few statutory exemptions, all vehicles registered in the State of Maine are subject to the excise tax. Excise Tax is defined by State Statute as a tax levied annually for the privilege of operating a motor vehicle or camper trailer on the public ways.
The excise tax is calculated by multiplying the MSRP (sticker price) of the vehcile by the corresponding years mil rate shown below:
Year 1 .0240 mils Year 2 .0175 mils Year 3 .0135 mils Year 4 .0100 mils Year 5 .0065 mils Year 6+ .0040 mils
For example a two year old car with a MSRP of $25,000 would be charged a mil rate of .0175 totaling an excise bill of $437.50 or ($25,000 x .0175 = $437.50).